I’m taking a class on managerial communications. It’s an interesting class, with an interesting teacher. However, I’m a religion major. Not exactly within my career path, but I feel that leadership is a necessity for any leader. There are some things such as the understanding of jargon and communications media that I feel are essential for anyone. We got into an idea that I’ve always had; the idea that we become what we pretend to be. The Army called it fake it ’til you make it. I simply agree with it. We are the sum of what we see and what we do. This is a difficult idea for those that believe that that will be eternally faking it.

I wish I had taken this class before Expository Preaching and Public Speaking. These classes built on each other, but I believe that managerial communication ideas should have been built on and not built up to. I’ve had other regrets of this nature. I felt that Biblical Interpretation should have been one of the first classes I took. Unfortunately, I had to take it right before Preaching without a huge gap in my major classes. One of the disadvantages of the rotating class schedule at the small campus in Tucson of Wayland Baptist University is that we don’t get to do things in the best possible manner but the quickest possible.

I’ve started journaling on the Elephant Journal’s (an online journal of Eastern and New Eastern (if I may use that term) thought) Bhagavad Gita in a Nutshell. I’m going to be blogging on some of these ideas. I remain a Christian, but as a former practitioner of New Age ideas, the Bhagavad Gita once held the closest place to holy writ in my eyes as anything else. The Bhagavad Gita in a Nutshell places similar ideas in proximity to each other, rather than placing the legend in chronological order. One is advised to journal or write down the ideas that come to mind. I’m going to be using some used bookstore credit I have to buy a personal copy of the Gita again, so that I can study translational issues.

Life is good. My wife is a little under the weather, but the Lord has always provided. I have a roof, the things I need and some of the things I want, and two wonderful children, as well as my wife. I’m also able to go to school without suffering in a major way. I pray that things are going great for you. If you’ve been a part of my life, thank you! If you have not, contact me at Jtarb on Twitter. I’ll be glad to be a friend, or as close as I can.

